A Beacon in the Night

“By day the Lord went ahead of them in a pillar of cloud to guide them on their way and by night in a pillar of fire to give them light, so they could travel by day or night.” Exodus 13:21

Can you imagine being lost in a desert for 40 years?  That was the fate of the Israelites.  It was a long time with no security, peace, or knowledge of what was ahead.

But they were never alone.  God was present in the cloud to guide them.  Even at night they could see the pillar of fire and know that God was with them.  As long as they followed this guide they knew that they were headed in the right direction.

We’re all just like the Israelites.  Just as lost as they.  If our lives have no meaning beyond ourselves, we have no point of reference, like Frank Peretti explains in this video.  We don’t where we’re going or why.

But God gives gives us a focus.  A direction.  With him, we’ll never be lost.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Beacon in the Night

  1. color says:

    Thanks for sharing this. I’m really glad I read it. It is really encouraging to be reminded that no matter what we do or go through, God is faithful and will never forsake us. I want to meditate on that truth more and praise Him for His awesome faithfulness.

    I’m reminded of Isaiah 41:10 “Do not fear, for
    I am with you; do not anxiously look about you, for I am your God. I will strengthen you, surely I will help you, surely I will uphold you with My righteous right hand.”

    Keep up the good work, Kyle! And praise God for who He is!

    ~Elia

  2. Allison Marie says:

    There are times in my life when I’ve felt so surrounded by darkness and depression and God has been my light through all of them. Thank you for sharing this!!

Leave a Reply

