Random Acts of Kindness

“making the most of every opportunity, because the days are evil.” Ephesians 5:16

You’ve probably seen the videos of the Food Court Musical or the No-Pants Subway Ride by Improv Everywhere. I have recently become kind of a fan of the group. Their randomness brings joy to my soul, and they have definitely put smiles on many face.

Take the High Five Escalator for example. I love watching the groggy, sullen crowd become a group of genuinely happy people. Isn’t it amazing what a high five can do?

If it’s that easy to make a difference in someone’s life, we really have no excuse not to try. Take a step outside your comfort zone. Hold the door open for a stranger. Hug someone you normally wouldn’t hug. If you love your family, tell them so. Like Mother Theresa said, do small things with great love.

Why? Well, 1) Jesus did it; 2) The Bible says so; and 3) The world could be so much better than it is.

So what are you waiting for?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Random Acts of Kindness

  1. Mandee says:

    Kyle. I love this entry! I am familiar with the group and I think what they do is totally awesome! I agree that we should try and make somebody’s day! You never know what kind of ripple effect a friendly hello will have! Thanks for sharing! This is really encouraging and …well, true šŸ™‚

  2. markleber says:

    I have never heard of Improv Everywhere, but they seem to be a pretty interesting group. Thanks for the post. It was a good reminder of how much little things can make or break any given day. It shows the importance of being polite in every day acts, because they may go along way.

  3. Hiromi says:

    I cannot wait to join them once I move to NYC. I always enjoy their acts, and I think their randomness is coming from the humanitarian love and joy. Thanks for the post!

  4. j says:

    Is Improv Anywhere similar to the flash-mobs that hit everywhere during the holidays?

    • kylethorp says:

      I’m not really familiar with flash mobs, but I guess it’s a similar idea. Some of the things IE does are only with a handful of people, though. There’s really a lot of variety in what they do, but the idea is turn the idea of “pranking” someone on its head. Rather than targeting someone in order to humiliate them, IE tries to do things that make everyone laugh.

      I would recommend visiting their site . It’s really fun.

  5. Ellie Harp says:

    This post is a good reminder, Kyle! I love the Food Court Musical… I’ll have to look up the other ones. šŸ™‚

  6. Walter says:

    This is something that I have really been thinking about recently. Even small actions can be the difference between being a positive and a negative impact on people’s lives.

  7. elia says:

    I totally agree! It’s amazing how doing something little and kind can really brighten up someone’s day. And even better, it goes both ways! The encourager is often even more encouraged than the person that they’re trying to cheer up. I bet Rob was really smiling after all those high fives. Thanks for sharing the videos- they’re great!

  8. So true, I definitely agree! Even a smile can brighten someone’s day. Great post!

  9. Kristen says:

    Mother Theresa had it right: we should make the effort to have even our smallest actions glorify God.

  10. Dan Bos says:

    Great post Kyle. I think we could all use a little more joy in our lives.

Leave a Reply

