Looking Ahead

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘Plans to prosper you and not to harm you.  Plans to give you a hope and a future.'” Jeremiah 29:11

I’m getting ready to start my junior year of college.  This is the time when career counselors (at my school anyway) start to pester students about their future plans.  Thankfully, I was one of those overacheivers who started making visits to the career center my freshman year.  But at this point it feels like I’m just spinning my tires.  I’ve considered a wide variety of options but still can’t figure out what path to take after graduation.

I want to have my life mapped out.  I want a specific goal with measurable steps to help me get there.  Isn’t that how people succeed in life?

I’ve forgotten once again that I am not in control.  Did I know my life would like this three years ago?  Absolutely not.  And yet I’m perfectly content with where I am now.  Has not the same God who has been faithful in the past promised never to leave me or forsake me?

I don’t have to see the future to decide to take this internship or to ask that girl out on a date.  Foresight of things to come is God’s department, not mine.  If I am faithful in the day-to-day things, he will be faithful in the long-term.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

