Who Do you Worship?

“Do not worship any other God, for the Lord, whose name is jealous, is a jealous God.” Exodus 34:14

The best and worst of humans is that we are natural worshippers.  Whether it’s movie stars, rock bands, sports, clothes, or food, we know how to give credit to the things that we love.

As Christians, we know that our worship belongs to God.  But do we give it to him?

I’ve already talked about the all-encompassing nature of worship– that it should occupy the heart, soul, mind, and strength.  I’ve also talked about serving God in reverence and awe.  Take a minute to evaluate your own worship.  Do you think God is pleased with the worship you offer?

You might say “Ok, I admit that I’m not worshipping God like I should be, but I’m not worshipping ongodly things either.”  False.

In Matthew 12:30, Jesus says, “He who is not with me is against me, and he who does not gather with me scatters.”  Those are strong words.  Don’t you want to confidently and truthfully say you are for Jesus?  But when we fail to offer our praise to the Lord, it always get stolen away by something else.  As Romans 1:25 says, “They exchanged the truth of God for a lie, and worshipped and served created things rather than the Creator– who is forever praised.  Amen.”

I confess that I myself have traded the glory of God for a false god.  Every day I proceed with the morning ritual where I worship the silvery box of metal and plastic on my desk.  I spend more time with my tablet PC than with any person I know.  It’s useful and I need it to complete a lot of tasks, but it doesn’t deserve the place of God in my heart.

Maybe you have a similar god in your life.  Just remember that God is jealous.  He won’t play second fiddle to anyone.  So get rid of the idols in your life, and give yourself completely to God.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Who Do you Worship?

  1. allisonthorp says:

    A great reminder of what really matters!

Leave a Reply

