Just Because

“This is love: not that we loved God, but that he loved us and sent his Son as an atoning sacrifice for our sins.” 1 John 4:10

Yesterday, I completed an internship with a small business located near my college.  There had been some ups and downs.  I got to learn a lot and meet some great people.  But the time had come for me to leave that company.

Before I left that day, each of the employees I had worked with let me know they would miss me and wished me well.  I was touched by the love they showed when I had known them for so short a time and given them so little.

As I mentioned a while ago, our culture is very performance-oriented.  We have to do well on tests if we want to finish school.  We have do well at our jobs if we want to get promoted.  Even our spouses expect us to behave according to a reasonable standard.

It’s one thing to get something you know you deserve.  But nothing beats the feeling you get when someone gives you something just because.  That’s what the Bible calls grace.

Why did Jesus leave paradise to become a man?  Just because.  Why did he choose a humble carpenter and a young, unwed girl for his earthly parents?  Just because.  Why was he willing to be born in a stable full of animals and hay?  Just because.  Why did he suffer the painful death of a criminal?  Just because he loved us.

It’s wonderful to be reminded that nothing I’ve done and nothing I can do will ever affect Jesus’s love for me.  With his example, perhaps we can all learn to do things just because.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

