The Gang’s All Here

“For the trumpet will sound, the dead will be raised imperishable, and we will all be changed.” 1 Corinthians 15:52b

This Christmas day has been wonderful because I’ve spent it with my family. I can look forward to the same traditions every year. Even now that I’m in college and spend most of the year away from my family, the holidays are a time when we can all be together.

But I realize that Christmas won’t always be like this.  It won’t be long before me and my sisters will have homes and families of our own.  No ties are permanent and change is inevitable.

But I know that my whole family is saved, and that means that we won’t remain separated, not even by death.  The Bible tells us that all Christians will meet in heaven at the end of time.  What a glorious reunion that will be.

In the final episode of the series Lost all the characters who have come and go throughout the story come together one last time.  A similar reunion takes place at the conclusion of Lewis’s Chronicles of Narnia.  All the characters from the seven books meet in Aslan’s country.  Scenes like this capture a little bit of what the consummation of the church will be like.

I’m looking forward to seeing my grandparents and my aunt, who have all gone home to be with the Lord.  I will also be able to reconnect with friends who have gone separate ways.  But best of all, I’ll get to see Jesus.  What a happy meeting it will be.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

