A Matter of Taste

“You, then, why do you judge your brother?  Or why do you look down on your brother?  For we will all stand before God’s judgment seat.” Romans 14:10

Going to Grove City College is both a blessing and curse.  I receive a respectable, Christian, liberal arts education.  This is exactly what I want to get out of college.  And I’ve been fortunate to find many people there that share my background, goals, and interests.

Being a student at Grove City can feel like being in some kind of elite club, at least to me.  Partly because of this, and partly because I’m a human being with a pride problem, I often feel that I’m somehow superior to the masses.  I can understand classic literature, I know more about the Bible than the next guy’s pastor, and I don’t listen to the sorry excuse for music they play on popular radio stations.

I feel disgusted by most popular forms of “entertainment” these days, and while the feeling can be godly, I really don’t think it is.  If I’m going by God’s checklist, I should only consider things that are true, noble, right, pure, lovely, admirable, excellent, and praisworthy.  How many things do I entertain myself with that have all of those qualities?  Not too many.  When it comes to judging the things of the world, I’m grossly underqualified.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

