Be Still My Soul

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord. ‘Plans to prosper you and not to harm you. Plans to give you a hope and a future.'” Jeremiah 29:11

Today I came upon a note I had written four years ago, shortly after my
18th birthday. This is what it said:

“So, a little while a go, it hit me. There’s no more waiting. I’m officially an adult now, and I know that doesn’t exactly mean anything, but I feel like my life is starting. For a while, I’ve had this weird sort of fear in the back of mind that I’m gonna be dependent on my parents for the rest of my life. I don’t just mean financially. I guess I just sort of had this picture of myself thriving in my career, but coming home at the end of the day to the same house, same bedroom. I know that’s completely unfounded, but I just feel like I’m running out of time to learn to do things on my own. The world is so complicated these days, and I just feel like a little kid in it. It’s just a weird feeling.”

It was a shock to realize that, with everything that has happened to me over the last four years, I still worry about the same things. I haven’t figured everything out yet by any means. I still have a lot of “growing up” to do.

But looking back on the past four years, I see I have nothing to be afraid of. I wouldn’t change anything about my life because God has always been there, disciplining, guiding, protecting. With such great evidence of his sovereignty and grace, my one response can be “Be still my soul, thy God doth undertake to guide the future as he has the past. Thy hope thy confidence let nothing shake. All know mysterious shall be bright at last.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

