Turn Your Eyes

“‘My food,’ said Jesus, ‘is to do the will of him who sent me and to finish his work.'” John 4:34

It seems that old hymns have been on my mind a lot. Yesterday I thought of one as I was driving home from work. I came around a bend and found myself staring into a beautiful sunset. It just lit up the sky so that everything else was no more than a silhouette.

While that can be dangerous while you’re driving, it’s a great metaphor the Christian life. When we focus on Christ, all of our goals and all of our worries seem to disappear. They “grow strangely dim in the light of his glory and grace.”

I know I spend too much time thinking about what I don’t have. If I could just get the right job, the right degree, the right friends– I would be perfectly happy with my life. But there are times when I find myself caught in the light of the Son. When I behold his beauty, he becomes everything that matters to me. My plans and desires become nothing else but his own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

