To Moms

It’s Mother’s Day. Time to tell our moms how much we love them and how thankful we are for everything they have done for us. I couldn’t begin to name all of the ways that my mother has demonstrated her love for me over the years or count how much I owe to her.  But I do want to thank her and all moms of adults for one thing in particular. I want to thank them for letting us grow up.

As much as every mother wants to see her kids grow into mature, successful adults, I know that this is also hard for them. I can’t say I know what it’s like to raise kids, but I do know what it’s like to grow from a kid into an adult. And I know that every time I want to be comforted or consoled by my mother, she wants to comfort me even more.

But my mom can’t follow me around with a tissue and some Tylenol for the rest of her life, waiting for a crisis to dry my tears and tell me it’s going to be ok. And the truth is, it wouldn’t be loving for her to try. It wouldn’t be loving for her to abandon me to the hurts and trials of life either. No, the most loving thing she can do is to teach me to rely on someone greater. To lean on the arms of my Savior when I feel weak because it is there that I find strength.

As a guy, I don’t like to feel weak. Maybe that’s one of the reasons I sometimes push my mom away and try to do things my own way. I don’t do it because I feel strong. I do it because I’m afraid of being weak. Through many of the experiences I’ve had as an adult, whether in college or with work, I’ve learned that I am in fact, weak. Those experiences have allowed me to discover the incredible strength and love of God the Father, and I could ask for no better gift than that.

So here’s to moms who show their children the right person to run to.  Here’s to moms who demonstrate the love of God to their children. And here’s to moms who know when to step aside and let their children fall, so that God can catch them. Here’s to moms who have the courage to let their kids grow up. Here’s to you, Mom, for loving me enough to let God love me more.

Happy Mother’s Day.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

