One nation, under God . . .

“First of all, then, I urge that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and thanksgivings be made for all people, for kings and all who are in high positions, that we may lead a peaceful and quiet life, godly and dignified in every way.” 1 Timothy 2:1-2

I had hoped that following the election, I could get some relief from the vicious political remarks I have been hearing everywhere. Sadly, I now see how naive that hope was. The anti-Trump rhetoric is stronger than ever, and I am particularly distressed by those proclaiming, “He is not my president!” Even Christians are joining in the rants. So I had to get back to my old blog and weigh in on the issue.

Simply put, I can see no justification for the way certain people are reacting to Trump’s victory. Regardless of anyone’s opinion of him, Donald Trump will be our next president. As the nation’s leader, he demands our respect. We can gripe and complain it about it all we want (believe me, I’m just as tempted to as you are), but it won’t change a thing. I believe, however, that there are two things we can do to make a difference.

First and foremost, this is the time for Christians everywhere to pray. Pray for Donald Trump and his entire administration to make wise decisions. Pray particularly for those who have the ear of the future president, that they would give sound advice to move this nation forward. Have faith that our prayers make a difference, because they do.

Secondly, I urge Americans to seek harmony with one another. We have a wonderful thing in this country called freedom of speech, but too often we use it to tear apart rather than to knit together. Abraham Lincoln once applied the words of Mak 3:25 to our nation. “A house divided against itself cannot stand.” I think we need to be reminded of that now as much as ever.

Our country has survived wars, economic depression, epidemics, and much more. I don’t believe any of us want to see it crumble. So let’s stand behind our president and do our best to support our country.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

